Hobonichi Review

After much anticipation, I finally received my Hobonichi parcel last evening!

Excuse the lousy photos as I was too excited to get rid of the packaging to touch the stuffs!!! And more to come…

1.jpg
I like it that they uses an extra packaging so I wouldn’t have to destroy the beautiful box! Most online retailer do not do that and you ended up destroying the beautiful box 😦
The outer packaging is in white with the simple black font of Hobonichi which is so sleek!

IMG_9269.jpg
I love the box this year (okay I do not have other boxes to compare lol) but its in bright shiny yellow! So Hufflepuff! Yay. I generally do not keep boxes being an minimalist… But I think I have to keep this one. I keep all the hobonichi stuffs inside so its like christmas every single time when  I open it up ❤

IMG_9270.jpg
Cool quote on the box. Lets fix things next year xD

IMG_92712
So here they are – the hobonichi goodies ❤

Hobonichi Techo (English) A6 – Being an stationary lover, I have an idea of how small A6 is. I do not want A5 as I uses A5 planner before and its heavy and slight inconvenience for daily uses. Some days I don’t even want to bring it out. But maybe because the paper was too light. It made the planner look smaller than what I have expected. I am very tempted to get the Japanese version lol cos the Japanese wording is like so beautiful. I can read like 5% cos some words are similar to Chinese. But the cover of the English version is much nicer looking xD
Soda Dots cover – It looks more beautiful in real life. After watching Hobonichi Live on Sina weibo last Saturday, I knew that I would love this cover and I have like 3 others on my wishlist lol I picked Soda Dots as I wanted to go with something more special rather than the plain looking covers ones.
Cover on cover  (Tokyo, Paris Alphabet) – I picked this two and didn’t get “Light”. I always love Paris so “Paris Alphabet” was an obvious choice. “Tokyo” looks nice on Soda Dots from their FB photos. But “Light” doesn’t seems that nice on Soda Dots. I didn’t take a photos of them. Perhaps I would be more excited when I start to set up the planner. I never use an Cover on Cover on all other organisers/planners before so it is something new! I thought they would like flimsy but they are quite thick PVC. So its not easily spoil! I hope!!
Stencils – I decided to pick up 2 stencils since I am terrible at drawing. They were quite pricey but branded as Hobonichi. I can probably get similar ones at Taobao at a cheaper price. They are however quite soft so I hope that they don’t break!
Weekly Calendar – This would be useful on days where I am lazy to bring the whole planner 😀 Being me, I know some days I will just neglect my planner :S
Zebra Mildliner – I used this before and love it. They are very different as they are more lighter in colour whereas staedtler highlighters are very brighty! I have also started to discover how useful highlighters are when doing planner this year. After calculation, they seems cheaper to get online (!!!) than getting from stationary stores. So I decided to buy a pack.

Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchases. I absolutely cannot wait for next year to come so that I can kickstart my new planner ❤

Now for the ordering experiences…

It was my first year ordering so like everyone else, I jumped into ordering on the first day. I didn’t know what I was expecting as I don’t want the cover(s) that I wanted to be sold out. (It was later then I realise I could have waited as my cover wasn’t one of those popular/sold out). So I took 55 minutes with multiple trying and refreshing to get the order processed. The experience is indeed very frustrating. I totally understand how some people feels especially if after multiple attempts, the stuffs they wanted are sold out! If I didn’t have much patience (:D especially when I am doing online shopping!!). I was lucky that I have a holiday on that day so I can sit in front of my MacBook to patiently place my orders. I tried to order everything at one go but my cart keep getting refreshed. In the end, I decided to order only the cover and it works better. I was checking out 55 minutes later. Then it took me multiple re-tries within the next few hours (I was doing some other things) to check out the rest of the orders.

Will I order on the release day again next year? Maybe or maybe not. It really depends on …Tokyu Hands. They will be bringing in Hobonichi this year but it will only be in early/mid October. (Which is why I decided to buy online as I cannot wait being the first year!!) If their range is okay and price is reasonable, I would probably get from Tokyu Hands next year??

