I always say the process of becoming an minimalist is very hard. Especially for people like me who is obsessed with things, shopping & belongings. Over the past couple of years, I changed a lot but I always feel that there is still something not quite done properly. Sometimes, I am happy with my progress as I felt that I have “given up” a lot of things. But sometimes, I feel frustrated as I still have a lot of things. There is no deny that I am still in the “learning” stage. It has taken so much of my time as I am still working my way towards the ultimate target of having less things for real.

So for the past years or so, I am not buying things like before. I don’t buy that many shoes, bags or even clothes. When I go to the malls, I can “shop” around the whole day but didn’t buy anything at all. It was quite hard to do that in the past. It is an achievement that I am proud of but I still find myself questioning the buying decisions that I have made. I always feel that minimalism is not about not going for shopping at all. I mean if you really need that shoes because your old one is worn out/broke etc, you should go ahead and just buy it. But the general concept is buy only when you need it and keep things to the minimum. So I felt that shopping do play an important part.  This is one main factor that I felt is contributing to my success/failure. I really need to work on making smarter buying decision. For e.g. I subscribed to an harry potter wearable box even though I knew that I have too much shirts. I have since unsubscribed as of last Monday. Finally! I am always thinking of a way to better manage all these. But the best method  is probably to avoid – e.g. avoid the malls if I can! But it doesn’t always work of course. I guess I have to train my brain to process my buying decision carefully :p I told a friend that I no longer buy things at the first instant I see. This is very important for me as I need to ask myself by thinking carefully if it’s a want or need. And most of the times, it’s just an “want” which means 1) I do not need it. If I buy, it will ended up being “unloved” somewhere in my house 2) I already have that product. Another dress? No thanks. 3) I can live without it.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, I decided to purchase a book that I came across on the “minimalism” subject. I bought this book as I really wanted to get more inspiration. I felt that I am not doing enough especially for the past one year or so. So I started reading it today.

I was very impressed that the author lived with only a few things in his life. So of course, it inspired me to start doing some decluttering… But I probably cannot get to that stage yet….

So here’s what I have done:
1) Declutter my bookshelves. The author threw/sold his bookshelf. But I could never do that. Some books like the harry potter series are still important to me! But I was inspired to sort through my books. In the end, I have 2 stacks of books which I decided to giveaway. Most probably I will deposit at the library or something 🙂 At the same time, I am going to consider my future books purchasing carefully. This is another milestone for me because I never touch books in the past. I always said I would never throw away any books because you would always have use for them. But it was of course not true. Unless it’s Harry Potter, I wouldn’t read them a second time. Many minimalists go digital by purchasing ebooks on Kindle etc. I do own an Kindle. But I still prefer flipping books every now and then. Of course there is the library which I can access for free! Well, I guess I really need to work on this.
2) Declutter facial/cosmetic – I kept a box of makeup products (Memebox days!) just in case I need someday. But I never uses them as I don’t apply makeup in my daily life. I tried throwing some. But after thinking, I threw some more! There is still some left just in case. I uses other stuffs like facial products, lotions etc more often. But I decided to get rid of some. So I threw some away too.
3) Threw a couple of random stuffs like cover for my old iPhone.

I am happy with what I have done as I have wanting to do something about these things for a long time. At the same time, this inspired me to further work on other areas. I will probably scheduled time everyday next week to do 10-15 mins of quick decluttering! As usual, I am looking to live with lesser things 🙂

Leave a Reply

