Review: Books.com.tw 博客來 (Taiwan)

I used to buy my Chinese books from books 博客來. It is cheaper than getting from the retail shop but it wasn’t exactly that cheap either as they uses DHL for shipping. So I always have to buy a few books in order to save on shipping. I kinda stop because I don’t read so much Chinese books nowadays.

I always like books 博客來 as they are very efficient and fuss free  – ship fast, never get my orders wrong and wide choices of (chinese) books. Sometimes I just browse and find some books to buy  because the website is so easy to use . I can read both traditional and simplified chinese text so  I am fine to buy the books there. Some people can only read simplified text which is the text that China and most APAC countries including Singapore are using. So this may not suit them. I particularly enjoy the translated version of Japanese triller/crime books. Being NOT a Japanese, I can’t read the Japanese version obviously. So my best alternative is the Chinese translated version. It is also where I got my favourite Minimalism book =)

So a couple days ago, I saw on a television programme that the orders can now be picked up from 7-11! So I decided to give it a try again! As an avid online shopper, I always find picking parcels from 7-11 very fascinating. Over the years of shopping  on taiwanese websites, I always wonder about the feeling of picking up your parcels from 7-11. I know Ninja Van do send delivery to Guardian. In fact, I have picked up a couple of times from Guardian. BUT its not the same thing. 7-11 is like the originator of this concept. At least it is in taiwan. They have this thing for years.

Feeling very excited, I went online and try to login to my inactive account. Luckily I still remembered the password. Within 20 minutes, I have checked out 2 books. I was super happy because it wasn’t that expensive to check out just two books. I feel that it was originally much more expensive when they have the old shopping method – via DHL.

As expected, my order was shipped the next day! It took only 3 days to fly over and it was at the locker at the 7-11 outlet I have selected! Since it was a Saturday, I couldn’t pick it up. So I delayed till Monday to pick it up after work. They only gave you 3 days so time is really tight. If you have any traveling plans, then its safer not to place any orders.

So I stepped into 7-11 and asked the store assistant about it. She say at the back. I thought she meant at the back. You know outside the store. So I went out and walked one round. I took out my phone and realise the address stated the 7-11 address so where is the thing? I went in again but there was 2-3 people in the queue. And I realise there is something at the back. Funny that the store assistant didn’t stop me when I leave the store. But anyway, I went there and key in the pin to get the parcel.  Well, I would say the feeling is similar to going to a locker from SingPost. It doesn’t seem that exciting as expected. haha. But definitely it is much convenience as delivery to house may not be the most ideal method for some people. Nobody would be at home on weekdays!

The concept they wanted to promote is that you can get your books any day as 7-11 is operated 24 hours. Overall, I enjoyed the experience. It didn’t give me the “real feel” of picking up at 7-11 as it is an locker that you used to self-service.  But it is fuss-free and efficient!

Leave a Reply

