Baggallini Avenue Tote Review

Late last year, I have changed job. And I started bringing my own lunch. Being me, I changes bag often and sometimes I just want to carry a huge tote to throw everything in!

3 weeks ago, I decided that to find a bag with organising compartments! I didn’t realise it for years that such bag are much useful. It is much more functional as compared to bags that look nice but do not have the compartments. Yes I am super obsessed with organising. An ex colleague used to comment that I have way too many pouches in my bags. Yes I love putting things into pouch because I simply cannot stand them all over the places. I usually have 2-4 pouches depending on what bag I uses. I also realise that there isn’t much choices in the market. Not much bag companies focus on this – making bags with compartments.

So after doing some research, I decided to purchase an Baggallini bag. There is a lot of good reviews on this bag (Avenue Tote) on eBags, Zappos and Amazon. I wanted to buy from Zappos as it is cheaper. But fortunately, I was unable to pay with my card. It was fortunate as I realise Amazon has it and was on sale! I purchased it at USD69.90 and now it is listed at USD98! And I get free shipping! Well I have to spend USD125. But it was worth it. I purchased some OST and Funko.

Baggallini focus on bags for traveling. My main focus is for commuting rather than traveling as I don’t like carrying a lot of stuffs when traveling. But who knows? Maybe one day, I will take this on a trip.


On the first look it wasn’t impressive. It look cheap. But after examining the material, I felt that it seems to be of good quality. The bag is  made of nylon and made in China. But the quality is different from those usual nylon bags that I have seen from China. This is far better quality. Those cheaper nylon are usually very shiny looking. But this bag seems to be in between canvas and those lower quality nylon bag. I felt that it could last much longer than those bags. But my main concern is how waterproof this bag is. I guess I will find out when I uses this when it is raining.

Of course the main focus of the bag is the compartments! The video on Zappos shows the different compartments and it was the deciding factor for me. I felt that the compartments would be useful as I can now organise my things into the bag instead of putting them in pouches! As a result, I may cut down on pouches. Yay minimalism! I don’t carry laptop or tablet. But the compartment meant for laptop/tablet can be used to put planner, notebooks etc. When I buy bags with compartments, I always ensure that there is one for pens. Because being me, I cannot go anywhere without a pen! So I am looking forward to using the pen compartment.

So, on the first look, this bag seems really functional and useful with the different compartments. The materials aren’t something very impressive. But it looks like good quality and seems lasting. So this bag will replaces a couple of big tote that I have to be the daily work tote. I am going to start using and will eventually “remove” the rest from my life =)

Leave a Reply

