Do expensive shoes last?

As I have decided to buy a casual canvas slip on, so I started wondering…

One of the most important thing that I felt is to find a long lasting shoes when it comes to minimalism. It is near impossible to find lasting shoes that last forever. But the idea is that they are not suppose to last forever. But rather, it is good for a long time. So the big question is does price play a part in “lasting”?

Consider expensive – Toms, Keds
Consider mid range – Local brands – Flips / Ripples etc
Consider cheap – Cheap shoes from Taobao/Cotton On etc

Current situation:
– My slip on from Cotton On is breaking. The string from the sewing has begin tearing. It cost like 5bucks. So I don’t expect it to last.
– As much as I love the canvas shoes from Ripples, I am using them as my daily work shoes sometimes… So on Friday where we usually dress down, I would like to wear different shoes.
– I also had another pair of canvas shoes from Flips, but  I am not quite a fan of their design. It is meant to be light but I prefer something more solid.
– My Adidas sandal has also break. I have wearing it often for a few months… For sandals, I find difficulties in getting an good ones. Hence, I think I would be sticking to getting a cheap ones. In the meantime, my choice are quite limited for casual Friday.

Hence, I decided to buy one!

After much consideration, I decided to buy a navy slip-on from Keds. I have their sneaker in black and wear that all the times. There’s an sales going on. But they don’t accept international credit card which is really ridiculous. But I bought the same one at Amazon with $10 saving! I hope it is as lasting as my sneaker! So there is no more spend on canvas shoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

